High School Students to Japan
Frequently Asked Questions

Packing and Laundry Strategies

 

This page discusses how to plan your wardrobe taking into account some strategies for cleaning. See also the Frequently Asked Questions on packing.

There are several alternatives to consider:
  • Pack 15 complete outfits - not recommended
  • Pack outfits so mix-and-match gives you a fresh feel each day - recommended
  • Plan on washing / drying clothes in your room
  • Use hotel services
  • Use local laundry / cleaning services
  • Wear the same clothes for 15 days without cleaning - please, no!
Below is a description of our trip in terms relating to laundry strategies:
  • Wed June  8 - travel day: one outfit for the 8th and the 9th, no chance to change!
  • Thu June  9 - travel day: one outfit for the 8th and the 9th, no chance to change!
  • Fri June 10 - Bus to Takayama; home stay; outfit 2
  • Sat June 11 - Takayama home stay; outfit 3
  • Sun June 12 - Takayama home stay; outfit 4
  • Mon June 13 - Takayama home stay; outfit 5
  • Tue June 14 - Takayama home stay; outfit 6
  • Wed June 15 - Takayama home stay; outfit 7; host family mother will do your laundry
  • Thu June 16 - Trains to Kyoto; repeat some previous outfit
  • Fri June 17 - Kyoto; repeat some previous outfit
  • Sat June 18 - Kyoto; repeat some previous outfit
  • Sun June 19 - Train to Tokyo; repeat some previous outfit
  • Mon June 20 - Tokyo; repeat some previous outfit
  • Tue June 21 - Tokyo; repeat some previous outfit
  • Wed June 22 - return home; long day; one outfit

 

So keep these points in mind and decide on the best strategy for your needs. Hope this helps.