A Vist to Japan - 2018: Itinerary


Our travel plan

Below is a table with the broad picture of our itinerary. Below that is a more detailed day-by-day description of the plan as of the date at the bottom of the page.

An itinerary is a plan as of a particular point in time of where to go, when, and how. But plans change, sometimes even from moment to moment. So our plans may change based on weather, surprise opportunities, changing interests, and factors beyond our control.

[Kanazawa,] Hiroshima, Kyoto, Takayama, Tokyo

 

Days, Dates, Cities and Notes
Day Date Itinerary
  The Kanazawa
pre-trip extension:
 
Wed 30 May Leave Denver in A.M. to your gateway city then eventually to Japan
Thu 31 May Arrive Tokyo ; on to Sunshine City Prince hotel
Fri 1 June To Kanazawa Shinkansen (bullet train) to Kanazawa station
Sat 2 June Kanazawa Festival
Sun 3 June Kanazawa Festival and Kenrokuen Garden
Mon 4 June To Hiroshima, join up with core trip group
     
  The core trip
(all travelers):
 
Sat 2 June Leave Denver in A.M. to your gateway city then to Hiroshima Airport (HIJ)
Sun 3 June Arrive HIJ, make way to hotel
Mon 4 June To Hiroshima, join up with pre-trip members; maybe a baseball game
Tue 5 June Hiroshima Vist peace park, peace museum, Miyajima
Wed 6 June To Kyoto
Thu 7 June Kyoto Kyoto touring
Fri 8 June Kyoto Kyoto touring
Sat 9 June To Takayama via Nagoya
Sun 10 June Takayama Takayama touring
Mon 11 June Takayama Takayama touring
Tue 12 June To Tokyo
Wed 13 June Tokyo site seeing
Thu 14 June Tokyo Tokyo touring
Fri 15 June Morning free then to aiport
Depart for Denver, arrive evening of same day(!)

 

 


Pre-trip extension group to Kanazawa



Wed., May 30

We're taking off
* See the page Shopping for air travel for thoughts on getting to Japan



Thu., May 31

We arrive in Japan
* Arrive Japan on your flight of choice
* Quarantine, Immigration (passport)
* Pick up bags, Customs
* Exchange currency
* Set JR passes to activate immediately
* To Sunshine City Prince Hotel
* Check in, explore neighborhood
* Dinner in local restaurant (or just crash!)



Fri., June 1

Tokyo to Kanazawa
* Breakfast at hotel
* Taxi to Ikebukuro station
* 9:16 JR Shonan-Shinjuku Line for Kogane, platform 3
* 9:40 Arrive at Omiya Platform 11
* 9:58 Depart Omiya on JR Hakutaka 557 Shinkansen (bullet train) from platform 18
==> Note: Lunch on train, on own
* 12:30 Arrive Kanazawa station on platform 13 * To Hotel Route-inn Kanazawa Ekimae
* Free time
* 7:00 p.m. - Kaga-yuzen Toro-nagashi: floating lanterns launched from Tenjinbashi bridge to Asanogawa-ohashi bridge
* 6:40 - 9:00 - Kodomo Chochin-Daiko Gyoretsu (Kids Marching with Red Lanterns)
* Dinner TBA



Sat., June 2

Pre-trip extension group:

Kanazawa
* Breakfast at hotel
* Kanazawa festival events:
     2:00 - Hyakumangoku parade, starts in front of Kanazawa station
     6:00 - Hyakumangoku Odori-nagashi - street dancing
     7:00 - Hyakumangoku Takigi-Noh (Torchlight Performance of Noh) at Kanazawa Castle
* Dinner TBA

Core trip group:

Core group taking off
* See the page Shopping for air travel for thoughts on getting to Japan



Sun., June 3

Pre-trip extension group:

Kanazawa:
* More festival events:
     8:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. - Hyakumangoku Chakai (The Biggest Tea Ceremony)
     10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.Kaga Hyakumangoku Bon-Shohgatsu (Traditional events at Kanazawa-jo Kohen Castle Park)
* Kenrokuen Gardens
* Free time
* Dinner TBA

Core trip group:

Group arrives in Hiroshima, Japan
* Arrive Hiroshima International Airport (HIJ) on your flight of choice
* Quarantine, Immigration (passport)
* Pick up bags, Customs
* Exchange currency
* Set JR passes to activate June 6
* To New Hiroden hotel
* Check in, explore neighborhood, unwind
* Dinner in local restaurant (or just crash!)



Mon., June 4

Pre-trip extension group:

Kanazawa to Hiroshima:
* Breakfast at hotel
* To Kanazawa station
* 9:03 - Limited Express Thunderbird 14, track 2
==> Note: lunch on this train or next; purchase your own
* 11:32 - arrive Shin-Osaka, track 17
* 12:09 - Shinkansen Sakura 555, track 20
* 13:36 - arrive Hiroshima, track 12
* To New Hiroden hotel
* Check in; free time
* Maybe a Hiroshima Carp baseball game in the Mazda Zoom Zoom Stadium
* Dinner TBA

Core trip group:

In Hiroshima
* Breakfast at hotel
* Onomichi trekking to Senkoji (https://gurutabi.gnavi.co.jp/a/a_1003/)
* ... or ...
* Mazda Museum and / or
* Sake brewery tour and / or
* Other options - TBD
* Maybe a Hiroshima Carp baseball game in the Mazda Zoom Zoom Stadium
* Dinner TBA


At this point the pre-trip group and the core trip group are together


 



Tue., June 5

In Hiroshima:
* Breakfast on own
* Visit Peace Park, Peace Musuem, A-bomb dome
* Okonomiyaki lunch
* Afternoon visit to island of Miyajima
* Dinner TBA



Wed., June 6

Hiroshima to Kyoto:
* Breakfast in hotel
* To Hiroshima station
* 9:55 a.m. - Shinkansen Sakura 542, depart from platform 13
* 11:24 a.m. - arrive Shin-Osaka, track 24
* 11:43 a.m. - Shinkansen Hikari 466, track 25
* 11:57 a.m. - arrive Kyoto station, track 11
* To Nagomi Ryokan Yuu or O-yado Sato ryokan, check in
* Lunch - TBD
* Nijouju
* Imperial Palace
* Dinner TBD



Thu., June 7

In Kyoto:
* Breakfast in ryokan
* Kinkaku-ji (Golden Pavillion)
* Walk along Kinukakeno-michi
* Visiting ryoan-ji and Ninna-ji
* Randen tram to Arishiyama terminal
* Lunch - TBD
* Explore Arishiyama and the bamboo forest
* JR Saga Arashiyama to Kyoto
* Dinner - TBD



Fri., June 8

In Kyoto:
* Breakfast
* Walk to Higayamashi station
* Handcraft market (Heian raku ichi market)
* To the Philosopher's Path
* Kiyomizu-dera
* Sannenzaka
* Ninennzaka
* Yasakajinja
* Nanzenji
* Heianjingu
* Ginkakuji
* Back to ryokan
* Dinner - TBD



Sat., June 9

To Takayama:
* Breakfast at hotel
* To Kyoto station
* 9:58 Depart Kyoto on shinkansen Hikari 462 from track 11
* 10:34 Arrive Nagoya on track 15
* 10:48 Depart Nagoya on Hida Express 7 from track 11 to Takayama
* 13:10 Arrive in Takayama
* Stay in Open Heart Pension in mountains
* Itinerary by City of Takayama and Takayama Denver Friendship Association:



Sun., June 10

In Takayama:
* Itinerary by City of Takayama and Takayama Denver Friendship Association:



Mon., June 11

In Takayama:
* Itinerary by City of Takayama and Takayama Denver Friendship Association:



Tue., June 12

To Tokyo:
* 9:38 Depart Takayama (Express Hida 6)
* 12:02 Arrive @ Nagoya Platform 3
* 12:26 Depart Nagoya (Hikari 518) Platform 4
* 14:10 Arrive @ Tokyo Platform 15
* To Sunshine City Prince Hotel
* Check in



Wed., June 13

In Tokyo:
* Tokyo touring



Thu., June 14

In Tokyo:
* Tokyo touring
* Last night in Japan!



Fri., June 15

Homeward bound (shuttle bus and airline ticket):
* Bus or train to airport
* Fly home