High School Students to Japan: Itinerary


Our travel plan

Below is a table with the broad picture of our itinerary. Below that is a more detailed day-by-day description of the plan as of the date at the bottom of the page.

An itinerary is a plan as of a particular point in time of where to go, when, and how. But plans change, sometimes even from moment to moment. So our plans may change based on weather, surprise opportunities, changing interests, and factors beyond our control.

Takayama, Kyoto, and Tokyo

 

Days, Dates, Cities and Notes
Day Date Itinerary
Tue 5 June Leave Denver in a.m. to LAX then to NRT
Wed 6 June Arrive Tokyo Narita (NRT); hotel shuttle bus to our hotel
Thu 7 June To Takayama Hiway bus
Fri 8 June In Takayama Takayama touring
Sat 9 June In Takayama Takayama touring
Sun 10 June In Takayama Takayama touring
Mon 11 June In Takayama Takayama touring
Tue 12 June In Takayama Takayama touring
Wed 13 June To Kyoto
Thu 14 June In Kyoto Kyoto touring
Fri 15 June In Kyoto Kyoto touring
Sat 16 June To Tokyo To Tokyo
Sun 17 June In Tokyo
Mon 18 June In Tokyo
Tue 19 June Morning free, then Narita Express ("N'EX") to airport
Depart for Denver; arrive evening of same day(!)

 

 


Tue., June 5

We're taking off
* Meet at DIA at 7:30 a.m., look for group check in counter, near door 610 or 612



Wed., June 6

We arrive in Japan
* Arrive Narita International Airport, Terminal 1, at 7:15 p.m.
* Quarantine, Immigration (passport)
* Pick up bags, Customs
* Exchange currency
* Set JR passes to activate on Wednesday, June 13
* Shuttle bus to our hotel
* Check in, explore neighborhood
* Dinner in local restaurant (or just crash!)



Thu., June 7

Bus to Takayama: depart 9:15 a.m., arrive 2:45 p.m.
* Meet host family at City Hall at 5:00



Fri., June 8

In Takayama
* Takayama touring



Sat., June 9

In Takayama:
* Host family time



Sun., June 10

In Takayama:
* Host family time



Mon., June 11

In Takayama:
* 8:30 Meet at first floor of Takayama City Hall
* 6:00 Meet host family at city hall



Tue., June 12

In Takayama:
* 8:30 Meet at first floor of Takayama City Hall
* 5:00 Return to city hall, pick up by host family



Wed., June 13

To Kyoto:
* Depart from Takayama at 09:38 on Hida Express 6
* Arrive Nagoya at 12:02 on track 3
* Depart Nagoya at 02:11 from track 16 on Shinkansen Hikari 471
* Arrive Kyoto at 02:47 on track 14
* Free time and dinnner



Thu., June 14

In Kyoto:
Kyoto touring



Fri., June 15

In Kyoto:
Kyoto touring
* Return to hotel (JR)



Sat., June 16

To Tokyo:
* Depart Kyoto eki at 08:33 on shinkansen hikari 512 (JR), track 12, arriving Tokyo track 17 at 11:10
* Depart Tokyo eki at 11:40 on Chuo line (JR) from track 1, arriving Shinjuku track 12 at 11:55
* Walk to hotel (12 min)
* Check in to our hotel
* Return to hotel



Sun., June 17

In Tokyo:
* Free time in morning
* Shibuya Station via Yamanote (JR)
* Shibuya Crossing, Hachiko Statue, and shopping
* Shibuya Station to Hamarikyu Gardens via Yamanote (JR)
* Sumida River Tour to Asakusa
* Asakusa Station to Sun Member Hotel
* Dinner on own



Mon., June 18

In Tokyo:
Tokyo touring
* Return to hotel



Tue., June 19

Homeward bound:
* Breakfast in hotel
* Airport shuttle bus from hotel to Narita, 3:00
* Arrive Denver at 8:47 p.m.